CEBU CITY – Did you know that Cebu, Pangasinan, Cavite, Laguna and Bulacan provinces delivered the biggest number of votes among the provinces and cities for president-elect Ferdinand Marcos Jr. and runningmate vice president-elect Sara Duterte in the May 9 elections?
As Cebu Governor Gwendolyn Garcia promised over one million votes when she announced that her One Cebu coalition had decided to carry the UniTeam of Marcos and Duterte, Cebu delivered not only 1,515,812 votes for Marcos and 1,772,999 for Duterte but also the biggest number of votes in the country among provinces and cities.
“Cebu has spoken, so will the rest of the country. The next president of the Philippines, [BBM] (Bongbong Marcos)!” Garcia said in her speech, which she mostly delivered in Bisaya, during their April 17 campaign rally which gathered a record of more than 120,000 voters.
In delivering the votes for Marcos and Sara, Garcia also scored a historic reelection win as governor with 1,478,436 votes while her opponent, former Tourism Secretary Ace Durano, got only 341,455 votes.

In her victory speech later, Garcia said she worked hard to campaign for the “UniTeam” of Marcos and  Sara Duterte who her party endorsed the last few weeks of the campaign. One Cebu party not only Cebu province but also the cities of Cebu, Mandaue and Lapu-Lapu.

“To me, it is a fulfilled promise to deliver one Cebu. We were able to unify the entire island, including the tri-cities,” said Garcia whose province is the richest in the country and has the highest number of voters at 3.2 million.
Pangasinan, home province of the mother of former President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo, honorary chairperson of Lakas-NUCD under whose banner Mayor Duterte ran, delivered the second highest number of votes for the BBM-Sara tandem.
A part of the Ilocos Region and the so-called “Solid North,” Pangasinan, with the cities of Dagupan, San Carlos and Urdaneta, gave Marcos 1,374,560 votes and Duterte 1,054,326 votes.
Former President Arroyo’s nephew, outgoing 5th district Congressman Ramon “Monmon” Guico III, who headed the UniTeam in Pangasinan, trounced incumbent Governor Amado Espino III in the gubernatorial race with over 800,000 votes.
In the 2019 election, then Binalonan Mayor Guico defeated reelectionist Rep. Amado Espino Jr., the governor’s father of Bautista town.
Elected fifth district representative last May 9 was outgoing Binalonan Mayor Ramon Guico Jr., a former president of the League of Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP) and father of the incoming Pangasinan governor. Binalonan is the hometown of the late First Lady Evangelina Macaraeg Macapagal.
Incoming Governor Guico’s runningmate, reelectionist Vice Governor Mark Lambino, son of presidential adviser for Northern Luzon Raul Lambino, also won the race.
As also promised during the campaign by Cavite Governor Juanito Victor Jonvic Remulla and Rep. Crispin Remulla, Marcos secured 1,121,108 votes and Duterte-Carpio 1,031,113 votes in Cavite, the third biggest votes for the tandem.
The Cavite governor was reelected with 1.3 million votes along with Rep. Remulla who was virtually unopposed and most candidates under the UniTeam. Remulla’s runningmate, Athena Tolentino, daughter of Rep. Abraham Tolentino, won as vice governor, replacing three-termer Jolo Revilla who was elected congressman.
Athena Tolentino’s sister, Aniela Tolentino, was also proclaimed as Cavite 8th District representative, replacing Rep. Abraham Tolentino, who won as Tagaytay City mayor.
Outgoing Vice Governor Jolo Revilla, son of Sen. Ramon Bong Revilla, president of Lakas-CMD, a part of the Uniteam, was elected first district representative while her mother, outgoing Bacoor City Mayor Lani Mercado-Revilla, was elected congressman of the district.
Bulacan came in fourth after Cebu, Pangasinan and Cavite, after giving Marcos 1,024,069 votes and Duterte-Carpio 870,629 votes, despite of the fact that reelectionist Governor Daniel Fernando campaigned for Vice President Leni Robredo.
Fernando garnered 987,160 votes while his closest rival, Vice Governor and former governor Wilhelmino Sy-Alvarado, received 577,087 votes.

Fernando’s runningmate, Alex Castro garnered 755,785 votes against the 615,242 votes of former Gov. Jonjon Mendoza, to secure the vice gubernatorial seat.

Most of the proclaimed winners in the congressional race in Bulacan are supporters of Marcos and Duterte. They include Rep. Danny Domingo of the First District; Rep. Tina Pancho of the Second District; Rep. Lorna Silverio of the Third District; Rep. Linabelle Villarica of the Fourth District; Rep. Ambrosio Cruz Jr. of the Fifth District; Rep. Ador Pleyto of the Sixth District and Rep. Rida Robes of the Lone District of the City of San Jose Del Monte.

The four provinces are the country’s five most vote-rich provinces, with Cebu (including the tri-cities) having 3,288,778 registered voters; followed by Cavite, 2,302,353 voters; Pangasinan (with Dagupan City), 2,096,936 voters; Laguna, 2,045,687 voters; and Bulacan, 2,007,523 voters.
Laguna also voted for the Marcos-Duterte tandem, giving Marcos 925,307 votes as against Robredo’s 503,190 votes. Duterte got 809,611 votes as against second placer, Senate President Vicente Sotto’s 369,267 votes and Sen Francis Pangilinan’s 302,235 votes
Reelectionist Laguna Gov. Ramil Hernandez defeated outgoing Rep. Sol Aragones who supported VP Robredo, with 872,378 votes as against the former broadcast journalist’s 630,232 votes.
Hernandez runningmate Karen Agapay, also won the race with 844,47 votes. She defeated Jorge Jerico Ejercito.
All candidates of Marcos-Duterte tandem for congressman in Laguna also won. They are Representative-elect Ann Matibag of the first district (San Pedro City); Rep-elect Ruth Hernandez (second district); Amben Amante (third district); Jam Agarao (fourth district); Rep-elect Len-Len Alonte, lone district of Binan City; Rep-elect Cha Hernandez, lone district of Calamba City; and Rep-elect Dan Fernandez, lone district of Sta. Rosa City.

Gov. Garcia said she had campaigned like never before in her political life for her fifth term and for the  Unity Team.

“Tungod kay sa labing unang panahon usab, ako matinud-anon nga mituo sa mensahe sa atong tataw na kaayo umaabot nga presidente ug umaabot nga bise presidente. Tungod kay ang ilang mensahe haum ug tukma sa mithi sa One Cebu – KAHIUSAHAN.” (Because for the very first time too, I sincerely believed the message of our very obvious future president and future vice president. Because their message fits and is in line with the values of One Cebu – UNITY.)